Keeping the Creative Juices Flowing


Books – Food – Music

What I’ve been doing to keep myself sane for the past three weeks and get some of that inspiration to keep writing:

In mind:

Right now I’m reading three different books depending on the time of day or where I am.

Keeping two books with contrasting gravity is a good way to exercise your brain and train it to slow down and speed up on command. I know it doesn’t work like that exactly, but it’s a good way to unwind or jumpstart any cranial activity you’re busy with at the moment.

The Rule of Four

When I feel the serious mood hit me, I read a few sections of the Antichrist by Nietzsche. It’s good with coffee and a dictionary. It’s the kind of book that makes your brow furrow, and you don’t necessarily agree with everything he says, but dude’s got an interesting point of view.

The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason is for some light reading when I get home from work or school. It’s light but still let’s you keep those cogs in your brain moving.

In body:

I drink about 2-3 cups of coffee every day on weekdays. It keeps the blood pumping, and unfortunately, makes you palpitate if you’ve got nowhere to put all that caffeine into. Black coffee is great for the blood and the bitterness keeps you awake. I just love that smell.

The only “sweets” I like are fruits. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, except my lust for lovely, silky, dark chocolate.

And of course: MEAT. Taco Bell’s having a Bacon Festival which means yes, I’ve been fiesta-ing it up since they announced it. Their bacon soft taco is amazing. Ordered everything on promo except the quesadillas yesterday. I don’t regret a thing.

With this diet, it would be impossible to keep a weight of 109 at 5 foot 4. I run a mile every other day too.

In spirit:

I’ve been listening to the Kooks, the Who, Immortal Technique and Weezer lately. Switching gears for every activity during the day helps set the mood for the task at hand. Since all I’ve been doing lately is working, these provide an interesting background to the clacking of my keyboard.

The WhoThe Who is a band of the 60’s and is one third of the trinity of British Rock; the Rolling Stones and the Beatles complete the tripod. Known for their inclination to destroy guitars on stage, they’re the epitome of what a rock and roll band should be like.

The Kooks on the other hand are a 60s inspired modern pop band, which is pretty self-explanatory.

Immortal TechniqueImmortal Technique is a Peruvian political activist who raps about left-wing issues focused mostly on racism, poverty and classism. He’s unlike any other rapper I’ve heard, because his songs actually MAKE you listen to the lyrics and not just the beat. ‘Dance with the Devil’ was one of the most moving things I’ve heard in a while.

Weezer is pretty popular I guess. Vocalist Rivers Cuomo had me at Buddy Holly. They’re pretty awesome.

pop on over to the discussion page if you want to vote on the next few articles!

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

